Advisory Committee and Evaluation

The Advisory Committee of the Crete Center for Theoretical Physics is composed of three distinguished physicists,

Curtis Callan (Princeton), Jean Iliopoulos (ENS, Paris) and Gabriele Veneziano (CERN and College de France).

Its role is to advise the Center on issues of science and science policy and to evaluate its scientific performance.

The short CVs of the committee members are presented below.

Curtis G. Callan Jr

He is since 1995 the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Physics at Princeton University, and has been the Director of the Princeton Center for Theoretical Physics (2005-2008). He is currently chairman of the Physics Department.

He is a member of the US National Academy of Science, recipient of the Sakurai prize for physics (2000) and the Dirac Medal (2004).

In addition to his indisputable scientific leadership in the field (currently he has 17000 citations in SPIRES) he has an enormous management and administration experience in universities and government agencies.

His scientific work focused in high energy physics and quantum field theory, string theory and also in interdisciplinary subjects touching condensed matter physics and biology. Because of this he has a view that is broader than the focus of research of the center.

He is well versed in the European research area and has been a frequent visitor of several European institutions in the past.

Jean Iliopoulos

He is directeur de Recherche au CNRS, (classe exceptionnelle) at the Laboratoire de Physique Theorique, Ecole Normale Superieure. He has been recurrently director of the Laboratoire de Physique Theorique, member of numerous scientific committees including the CERN scientific policy committee, and since 2002 a member of the French Academie des Sciences.

He is famous for his pioneering works on the physics of quarks ( his GIM paper has currently 3940 citations in SPIRES) as well as supersymmetry and anomalies.

He is the recipient of the Sakurai prize in Physics (1987) and the Dirac Medal (2007). He is one of the most distinguished Greek scientists in Greece and abroad today. He has been close in the past to the Department of Physics at Crete and its activities and has contributed both effort and advice.

Gabriele Veneziano

He is a senior staff member at the CERN theory group and incumbent of the chair of particle physics and cosmology at the College de France since 2002.

He was laureate of the prestigious chair Blaise Pascal in Paris between 2000-2002.

He is an acknowledged leader in the field of high energy physics and cosmology ( his work has 20500 citations in SPIRES). The focus of his work has, been high energy physics, string theory and cosmology and therefore has a broad view of the field subject.

He has been director of the theory Division at CERN (1994-1997). He is a member of the Academia Nationale dei Lincei since 1996 and the French Acad\'emie des Sciences since 2002.

He is the recipient of the I. Ya. Pomeranchuk prize (1999) the Enrico Fermi Prize (2005) and the Danny Heinemann prize (2004).

Reviews of CCTP

Initial Review

It took place during the period 18-20/11/2009 at CCTP.

Included here are the Center and project presentation as well as the positive committee's report.

Final Project Review

It took place 20-22/7/2012 at CCTP in the presence of Mr Andrew Bianco, EU representative.

The program of the first day of presentations, and the presentation of the CCTP elements.

The final committee report is also positive.

Link to Top           Back to CreteHEPCosmo